The Art of Photography Department

Contacts of the Art of Photography Department

Phone: +7 495 697 60 35

e-mail: photo-art@arts-museum.ru

Facebook page

The Art of Photography Department was established in 2009. The main task of the Department is to store, collect and study unique visual materials connected with the history of photography that represent changes in artistic styles, the development of photographic techniques, and the evolution of technologies and visual language. Important areas of the Department’s activity are research practice, projects and exhibition work.

Regarding the purchase or donation of the original photographs, glass and film negatives, albums, and various printed materials, the Museum is guided by the general principles of formation of the Museum Fund of the Russian Federation. As well as the State Tretyakov Gallery, the State Historical Museum and the State Russian Museum, The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts participates in the National Photography Documents Preservation Program, included in the state funds of the Russian Federation.

The photography collection began to be formed in 1986, and was stored initially in the Manuscripts Department. In 2020, the photography fund of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts has 1769 depository items, covering the period from the 1880s to the 2010s, and includes the works by 140 photographers, both Russian and foreign, belonging to different schools and movements.

Exhibition work is based on active interaction with major international cultural institutions (museums, funds, galleries), which house the photography collections.

Exhibitions dedicated to the art of photography were organized in the museum in the early decades of the 20th century. In 1924, an Exhibition of photographs of the Russian Photographic Society was held in the museum; and in 1937 – the First All-Union Exhibition of Photographic Art, which had occupied most of the halls on the second floor of the Main Building. The large-scale project presented 319 photographers to the Soviet audience; the exposition consisted of 1586 photographs. The exhibition was visited by more than 35 thousand people. This event became especially important because new art was presented in a classical museum.

In The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts several exhibitions of famous photographers were held: the works by Josef Sudek (1985), Helmut Newton (1989), August Zander (1994), Peter Lindbergh (2002), Boris Ignatovich (2002) were on display. The project “Helmut Newton in Moscow. The Photographic Work” was unique and very courageous: at the end of the 1980s there were no specialized institutions in Russia that could show such provocative works. The artist himself came to the opening.

In 2003, the exhibition “Looking at Photographs” (100 Pictures from the Collection of the Museum of Modern Art in New York) was a big success. The curator was John Szarkowsky – historian, one of the outstanding photography specialists.

Since its founding, the Department has carried out a number of projects dedicated to fine art photography, within which The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts has collaborated with such museums as The National Portrait Gallery (London); The Victoria and Albert Museum (London); The National Science and Media Museum (Bradford); The Centre Pompidou (Paris); the Israel Museum (Jerusalem); The Hara Museum of Contemporary Art (Tokyo); The National Museum of Art, Osaka; The National Museum of Modern Art, Kyoto, as well as the Man Ray Trust (New York).

In 2012, the exhibition “Museum. The Look of the Photographer” was dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts. The project was attended by 30 famous contemporary photographers from Russia, who presented their vision of the Pushkin Museum in various genres, styles and author’s interpretations.

In 2018 The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts held for the first time a scientific conference dedicated to early photography, timed to coincide with a unique exhibition of the works by the pioneer of photography, William Henry Fox Talbot. The conference was attended by experts from the Russian Academy of Sciences, famous museums, institutions, libraries etc. A wide range of issues were considered: photography printing technology, historical and artistic aspects of studying photography, and problems of storage, restoration, identification and attribution.

The lecture hall of The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts annually hosts a series of lectures on the history and theory of world photography.

Learn more about photography collection.

The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts held the Conference within the exhibition ‘William Henry Fox Talbot. At the Origins of Photography’ on March, 21 – March, 22, 2018.
You can learn more about conference programm and materials here.

    • 2014-2015
      • In the Flow of Time… Portrait Photography. From Lola Garrido Collection (Spain, Madrid)
    • 2014
      • Secrets of the Museum Store-rooms: Images of Paris. Topographic Photography of the late 19th – early 20th centuries
      • Oscar Wilde. Aubrey Beardsley. A Russian Perspective, collective exhibition
      • Homage to Rouen Cathedral. Andrey Chezhin
    • 2013–2014
      • Man Ray. Portraits
    • 2013
      • Nudes. From Marble to Photography. A joint project of Vogue magazine and The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts
    • 2012
      • Museum. The Look of the Photographer. To the 100th anniversary of The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts
    • 2011–2012
      • Genrikh Borovik. To See the Time
      • Annie Leibovitz. Photographer’s Life. 1990–2005
    • 2011
      • L’École de Paris. From the museums and private collections of Paris, Geneva, Moscow, collective exhibition
      • Inspiration Dior. Exhibition at The Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts, Moscow, collective exhibition
    • 2010–2011
      • Childhood. Adolescence. Youth. The exposition “Children in Photography”. On the 100th anniversary of The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, collective exhibition
    • 2010
      • Portraits. Lev Melikhov
      • Moscow. 1957. The Photographs by Léonard Gianadda

Contacts of the Art of Photography Department

Phone: +7 495 697 60 35

e-mail: photo-art@arts-museum.ru

Facebook page

Версии сайта
Крупный шрифт • контрастные цвета • скрыть картинки

Отдел искусства фотографии

Контакты отдела искусства фотографии

Тел.: +7 495 697 60 35

e-mail: photo-art@arts-museum.ru

Страница в facebook

Отдел искусства фотографии был организован в 2009 году. Основной задачей отдела является хранение, собирание и изучение уникальных изобразительных материалов, связанных с историей мировой и российской фотографии, демонстрирующих изменения художественных стилей, развитие фотографических техник, эволюцию технологий и изобразительного языка. Важные направления деятельности отдела – научная практика и проектно-выставочная работа.

Приобретая или принимая в дар авторские фотографии, негативы на стекле, пленке и других носителях, альбомы, различные печатные материалы, музей руководствуется общими принципами формирования Музейного фонда Российской Федерации. ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина наряду с Государственной Третьяковской галереей, Государственным историческим музеем и Государственным Русским музеем участвует в Национальной программе сохранения фотодокументов, входящих в состав государственных фондов Российской Федерации.

Коллекция художественной фотографии начала формироваться с 1986 года и хранилась первоначально в отделе рукописей. В 2018 году фонд художественной фотографии ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина насчитывает 1599 единиц хранения, охватывает период от 1880-х до 2010-х годов, включает произведения 135 авторов, как русских, так и зарубежных, относящихся к различным школам и направлениям.

Выставочная работа строится на активном взаимодействии с крупными международными культурными институциями (музеи, фонды, галереи), располагающими собраниями фотографического материала.

Экспозиции, посвященные искусству фотографии, были организованы в музее уже в первые десятилетия ХХ века. Так, в 1924 году здесь прошла Выставка фотографий Русского фотографического общества, а в 1937 – Первая всесоюзная выставка фотоискусства, занявшая большую часть залов второго этажа Главного здания музея. Масштабный проект представил советскому зрителю 319 фотографов, экспозиция состояла из 1586 отпечатков; выставку посетили более 35 тысяч человек. Событие это стало особенно важным, поскольку новое искусство было представлено в классическом музее.

В ГМИИ неоднократно проходили выставки известных фотографов: экспонировались работы Йозефа Судека (1985), Хельмута Ньютона (1989), Августа Зандера (1994), Питера Линдберга (2002), Бориса Игнатовича (2002). Проект «Хельмут Ньютон в Москве. Фотографические работы» был уникальным и очень смелым: в конце 1980-х годов в России еще не существовало специализированных институций, которые могли бы демонстрировать столь провокационные произведения. Сам художник приезжал на открытие.

В 2003 году с огромным успехом прошла выставка «Вглядываясь в фотографии» (100 снимков из коллекции Музея современного искусства в Нью-Йорке), куратором которой был Джон Жарковский – историк, один из выдающихся специалистов по фотографии.

Со времени основания отдел осуществил ряд проектов, посвященных русскому и зарубежному фотоискусству, в рамках которых ГМИИ сотрудничал с такими музеями как Национальная портретная галерея (Лондон); Музей Виктории и Альберта (Лондон); Национальный музей науки и медиа (Брэдфорд); Национальный центр искусств и культуры имени Жоржа Помпиду (Париж); Музей Израиля (Иерусалим); Музей современного искусства Хара (Токио); Национальный музей искусств Осаки; Национальный музей современного искусства Киото, а также с Man Ray Trust (Нью-Йорк).

В 2012 году состоялась выставка «Музей. Взгляд фотографа», посвященная 100-летию ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина. В проекте приняли участие 30 известных современных фотографов из России, которые представили свое видение Пушкинского музея в разнообразных жанрах, стилях и авторских прочтениях.

В 2018 году в ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина впервые состоялась научная конференция, посвященная ранней фотографии, приуроченная к уникальной выставке работ пионера фотографии Уильяма Генри Фокса Тальбота. В конференции участвовали специалисты из Российской Академии наук, известных российских и зарубежных музеев, библиотек и др. Был рассмотрен широкий круг проблем: технология фотопечати, исторические и художественные аспекты изучения фотографии, проблемы хранения, реставрации, идентификации и атрибуции.

В лектории Пушкинского музея ежегодно проходит цикл лекций, посвященных истории и теории мировой фотографии.

Ознакомиться с коллекцией фотографий.

21–22 марта 2018 года в ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина прошла научная конференция в рамках выставки «Уильям Генри Фокс Тальбот. У истоков фотографии».
Вы можете ознакомиться с программой и материалами конференции по ссылке.

Контакты отдела искусства фотографии

Тел.: +7 495 697 60 35

e-mail: photo-art@arts-museum.ru

Страница в facebook